Fiona Chiappetta
Fiona Chiappetta  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:51
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 16, 2017

Hello Everyone,

Don't know if this is the right place to post this question. It is my first time localizing a UK English brochure to US English. Am i supposed to only change words that are not used in the US (ex: tyre for tire, etc.) or am I supposed to change the whole narrative of the paragraphs?
I am using Trados Studio for this project.

Thank you for your help.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:51
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Is a lot of work needed? Jul 16, 2017

You're supposed to be localising a good English text, not improving a poor one. I've worked on texts where I feel that the wording of the odd sentence was probably OK in American English but doesn't really sound great in British, so I've rewritten them. Clients have always been happy with the results.

But if you feel that the text just doesn't read well in English (rwgardless of variant), you should report your concerns to the client, giving a few examples, and ask for their advice.
... See more
You're supposed to be localising a good English text, not improving a poor one. I've worked on texts where I feel that the wording of the odd sentence was probably OK in American English but doesn't really sound great in British, so I've rewritten them. Clients have always been happy with the results.

But if you feel that the text just doesn't read well in English (rwgardless of variant), you should report your concerns to the client, giving a few examples, and ask for their advice. It's probably going to take longer and so cost more, and anyway they may prefer to get the original text improved first.

Normally, you'll need to change:
- terms (holidays, sweets, trousers...)
- spellings (localise, centre, fulfil, practise...)
- some verbs forms (learnt, got, dived)
- some verb tenses e.g. British uses the present perfect more