Unemployment: Do they force translators to take courses in IT/other areas? [ESPECIALLY IN SPAIN]
Thread poster: Prozfesional
Prozfesional
Prozfesional
Spain
Jul 27, 2021

Hello all,

I am a Spanish freelance translator with 10 years of experience as a linguist and 10 years of previous experience in IT.

In the past, I have taken about 6 free unemployment courses (from SEPE, previously INEM), but I always was looking for a job in IT during these period, so it was a normal situation. Some of these courses were suggested to me by the unemployment office under the threat of suspending my benefits.

But what happens if you start rec
... See more
Hello all,

I am a Spanish freelance translator with 10 years of experience as a linguist and 10 years of previous experience in IT.

In the past, I have taken about 6 free unemployment courses (from SEPE, previously INEM), but I always was looking for a job in IT during these period, so it was a normal situation. Some of these courses were suggested to me by the unemployment office under the threat of suspending my benefits.

But what happens if you start receiving unemployment benefits ("the freelance unemployment", "el paro de los autónomos" in Spain) as a freelance translator and register yourself as "looking for a job as a linguist"? Because I have checked and there are simply no courses related to this (only short foreign language courses in German, Chinese and other languages).

I was wondering if anyone here has experienced this. Do they force you to take courses in other areas, such as IT? There are dozens of IT courses, and I'm afraid I will be forced to take one if I am in this situation in the future.
Collapse

Adieu
Adieu  Identity Verified
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
How does that even work for a freelancer? Jul 27, 2021

Are you expressly prohibited from taking on any paid jobs, however small? Or, on the contrary, technically promising to take on any paid work that comes your way, even at Indian Agency rates?