Elizabeth Morris
Elizabeth Morris  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:17
Russian to English
+ ...
Aug 6, 2021

Hello all,

I am a US-based translator struggling to figure out the best payment method to use for my individual clients located in countries such as Russia and (less often) Poland. Most recently a client in Russia was insistent on using PayPal--I had big reservations about this because I had heard fees could be very high and PayPal can be a nightmare to deal with. This immediately proved true when PayPal put a "hold" on the client's payment (~$300) so I will not be able to receive i
... See more
Hello all,

I am a US-based translator struggling to figure out the best payment method to use for my individual clients located in countries such as Russia and (less often) Poland. Most recently a client in Russia was insistent on using PayPal--I had big reservations about this because I had heard fees could be very high and PayPal can be a nightmare to deal with. This immediately proved true when PayPal put a "hold" on the client's payment (~$300) so I will not be able to receive it for an unknown period of time, possibly weeks. If I knew a better alternative to firmly request of the client, I would have done so; WISE does not have Russian ruble or Polish zloty accounts, for example.

I had considered using ProzPay, but the fees would have added up to almost 9% if the client chose the PayPal or credit card options, and I thought using PayPal directly would probably come in under that % at least. But now that PayPal is holding my money for who knows how long, I'm considering ProzPay in the future and the 5% total fee for a bank transfer isn't looking so bad, assuming this works with Russian banks and there aren't more fees tacked on by the banks at either end (which I'm not sure about). Plus, as I understand it, PayPal is not available to most people in Russia at all (I'm not sure how this particular client has access).