Paulien Rutten
Paulien Rutten
Belgium
Local time: 13:19
French to Dutch
+ ...
Dec 18, 2023

Hi,

I am new to Trados and need some help. I am trying to import a file that is in French, but when I try to import it in Trados, Trados says the soure language doesn't match because the source language is identified as English. Any idea how to fix this?
It's a html file by the way.

Yossi Rozenman
Yossi Rozenman  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2006)
English to Hebrew
+ ...
Which file type? Dec 18, 2023

Which type of file are you trying to import?
And what do you mean by "import"?

expressisverbis

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Paulien Dec 18, 2023

Paulien Rutten wrote:
When I try to import it in Trados, Trados says the source language doesn't match because the source language is identified as English. ... It's an HTML file by the way.

First, let's confirm if it really is an HTML file. If you right-click on the file (in Windows Explorer, e.g. on your Desktop) and select Properties, what "Type of file" does it declare the file to be? An "HTML" file that "Opens with" your default browser, or an "SDL XLIFF Document" that "Opens with" Trados Studio?

The reason I'm saying this is because I'm speculating that the file you have is not a foo.html file but a foo.html.sdlxliff file, and your operating system (Windows) is set up to hide the final file extension, so that it appears to you like the file name is "foo.html" (because Windows auto-hides the .sdlxliff part). If it is true that you have an SDLXLIFF file (e.g. foo.html.sdlxliff), then it means that the person who created the file had created it with the wrong source language.

And if this is so, then perhaps you should ask your client to send you an SDLXLIFF file with the correct language codes.

Hackish solutions:

If you feel VERY confident in editing text files, you can open the SDLXLIFF file in Notepad and then change this: