How much time do you spend researching terms with MT-PE?
Thread poster: Emal Ghamsharick
Emal Ghamsharick
Emal Ghamsharick  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 00:13
English to German
+ ...
Aug 10, 2021

Dear Colleagues,
I've been looking for figures on how long translators spend researching terms vs. other activities, such as typing, creating projects, paraphrasing, etc.
I also wonder whether there's any big difference in term research effort between MT-PE and manual translation. I would think it depends on how well maintained and reliable the TM and term base are. I would also think it depends on the translator's experience; as a rookie, I spent too much time researching general ex
... See more
Dear Colleagues,
I've been looking for figures on how long translators spend researching terms vs. other activities, such as typing, creating projects, paraphrasing, etc.
I also wonder whether there's any big difference in term research effort between MT-PE and manual translation. I would think it depends on how well maintained and reliable the TM and term base are. I would also think it depends on the translator's experience; as a rookie, I spent too much time researching general expressions that nowadays I would just paraphrase without consulting a dictionary and too little time researching specialized terms that have multiple options in the target language.
Are you aware of any research or could you share your own experiences?
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 01:13
English to Russian
None Aug 10, 2021

I don't accept any work other than translation.
Reviewing, proofreading, editing, MTPEtting... No.

Emal Ghamsharick
Germany
English to German
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Not just MT-PE, but also MT feature in CAT tool Aug 10, 2021